Sock Yarn Hat Knitting Pattern

Sock Yarn Hat Knitting Pattern

Sock Yarn Hat Knitting Pattern

Sock Yarn Hat Knitting Pattern

Sock Yarn Hat Knitting Pattern

Sock Yarn Hat Knitting Pattern

Sock Yarn Hat Knitting Pattern

Sock Yarn Hat Knitting Pattern

This latest knitted hat to be added to the stable was knit ‘on the hoof’, without any real clue (but with much calculated guessing), as to whether it would turn out right. Thankfully it did, and just in time to head out of the door to our bonfire night evening of fun (that’s my excuse for not blocking it – I know, baaaad knitter).

I’ve been working on getting my spinning a bit more consistent; I think it will take probably many more hours of sitting in front of the wheel before that happens, but I’m getting merino blends down to sock weight(ish) now, which means more options for knitting with handspun are opening up. This hat is a mix of handspun (the bright blue) and some leftover sock yarn. It’s a perfect stash buster and I’m pleased to say that Eldest declared it to be his most favourite hat of all – not too tight and long enough to pull down over the ears if he wants. In fact I had plans on making this a real slouchy hat, but stopped myself as I imagined the tom-foolery that would ensue as he wore in like a balaclava…

So here is how I worked it. Feel free to make your own! Let me know if you knit one up and if you liked it!

Sock Yarn Hat Knitting Pattern

{Ingredients}

200 yards of sock weight yarn
DPNS in 3.75mm

{To Fit}

Medium sized adult noggins and teenagers

{To Make}

1. CO 144 stitches, join to knit in the round, and knit in rib (K1,P1) for 1.5″

2. Knit in stocking stitch (st st) for another 1/2″ until the first stripe measures about 2″.

3. Add another colour and knit in st st for another 2″. Repeat alternating colours until the hat measures the size you would like. For this is was about 7.5″ from rim, but if you want a real slouchy hat keep going!

4. Work the decrease as follows:

i. K6, K2tog*, *repeat till the end of the round
ii. Knit a round
iii. K5, K2tog*, *repeat till the end of the round
iv. Knit a round
v. K4, K2tog*, *repeat till the end of the round
vi. Knit a round
vii. K3, K2tog*, *repeat till the end of the round
viii. Knit a round
ix. K2, K2tog*, *repeat till the end of the round
x. Knit a round
xi. K1, K2tog*, *repeat till the end of the round
xii. Knit a round
xiii. K2tog until only a handful stitches remain, then break off yarn and thread through the remaining stitches and pull.

5. Weave in all ends and block.

As usual I will add this to the “Free For You” page (remind me if I forget), and here too is a printable version. Hit me on Ravelry if you knit one up!

4 thoughts on “Sock Yarn Hat Knitting Pattern

  1. Oh looks easy. I’ve never tried to knit using the circular needles although I do have one which my mum handed down to me when her fingers became too rheumy (if that’s a word!) to knit. I’ve always wondered how to use it (especially for socks).

    Like

Leave a comment