In My Garden : Summer Solstice : 22 June

IMG_6979

The garden on 25th February this year, before Operation Get-Your-Act-Together commenced. And today:

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Notes to myself:

:: I need to lay cardboard and mulch in the strip of mud beside the path – I’m going to try to use those tarpaulin eternal shopping bags to grow garlic and leek in. It’s an experiment, but right now I’ve nothing to lose as that little bit of soil is being taken over by bramble.

:: The apple and plum trees need to be ruthlessly pruned this autumn.

:: Slugs – it’s ON. I hate killing things but y’all are taking my pacifism as a joke. I’m experimenting with home-made garlic spray and yeast traps this week to see if it helps save my kale.

:: And don’t think I’ve forgotten about YOU, aphids. Coffee; It’s coming your way.

:: Would like to grow more medicinal plants and more tomatoes next year.

:: Start the pepper and chilli plants off sooner next year. I mean it. No. Sooner than that.

:: That gum tree and conifer are going to have to be felled. We tried the ‘send the neighbour up the tree with a chainsaw’ last time. I’m opting for a professional, health-and-safety-is-cool, arborist this autumn.

:: I’m pretty sure the top of the garden could be put to better use. I have plans…. anyone with a free chicken run call me….

5 thoughts on “In My Garden : Summer Solstice : 22 June

  1. We take a tin pie plate, pour in a can of beer and leave it in your garden. The slugs crawl in and die. Then you only have to pour out the beer and put the tin in the trash. This really works. Your garden looks fabulous! Lovely outdoor room.
    Tana

    Like

Leave a Reply

