Flurry

IMG_3792

IMG_3793

IMG_3811

IMG_3808

IMG_3813

IMG_3816

IMG_3817

IMG_3822

IMG_3833

IMG_3838

IMG_3852

IMG_3888

IMG_3884

IMG_3891

IMG_3897

IMG_3898

No doubt, if you follow me on Instagram, you will know many of these images are weeks old. I’ve been getting into acrylics in a big way. At first I really didn’t like them and decided that watercolours were probably ‘my thing’. But after a bit of a pep talk from my sister (also an artist), I gave it one last go. And fell in love.

I’m trying to paint every day, and it really isn’t a chore. I think this might be it for watercolours – I’m smitten with this different way of making marks on substrate. I’m learning a lot about colour, colour mixing, light and tone. Each new study leaves me feeling frustrated and elated at the same time. I think I love the underpainting more than the finished piece. Maybe I’ll leave a few ‘unfinished’…

I have been trying to break up the none-stop paint fests with a bit of sewing and ink painting. But it doesn’t take the itch off the paint bug.

Now… who’s for oils??

Leave a Reply

