In The Scrap Pile

Heather Ross Fabric

Heather Ross Fabric

Heather Ross Fabric

Heather Ross Fabric

Heather Ross Fabric

Heather Ross Fabric

Heather Ross Fabric

Heather Ross Fabric

Heather Ross Fabric

Heather Ross Fabric

Heather Ross Fabric

I still haven’t gotten back to the sewing machine. I still haven’t fixed the sewing machine. I still haven’t moved everything blocking the sewing machine, so I can access the sewing machine, so I can FIX the sewing machine so I can sew.

But I have been playing with fabric, and I honestly think that’s the best part of making things.

Last year I culled my compulsive fabric scrap stash from one (or two, ahem) bin liners down to half a carrier bag. I kept only the things that made my heart sing, and pieces big enough to actually use, as well as a few stitched up things that had no real purpose but were too pretty to throw. I’ve been playing with colour combinations and ideas.

I’ve also taken the Heather Ross fabric I have slowly accrued and been playing with quilt ideas with this too. I’m not going to rush this – I want it to look just right and I’m in no hurry. I think Kona cotton is going to play a major part.

Surrounding myself with colour, and potential, is quite invigorating, even if I don’t get to make anything at the end of the day. There’s always tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “In The Scrap Pile

  1. Oh I would love to be able to embroider to a sufficient level to embroider those lovely birds. Sewing, of any kind, is not my forte and, by the time I’ve got the sewing machine out, I feel rather too exhausted from fending off children to actually sew anything with it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

