An Experiment in Colour

DSC_0053

DSC_0152

DSC_0064

DSC_0075

DSC_0097

DSC_0104

DSC_0111

DSC_0113

DSC_0137

DSC_0141

DSC_0146

DSC_0142

DSC_0159

DSC_0191

DSC_0203

DSC_0210

DSC_0228

DSC_0226

After last week’s flurry of dyeing much has been happening to get this fluff ready to knit.

The roving was washed, then left to dry, then carded (and colour-mixed as an experiment too), before spinning and plying. Once skeined all that is left is to ball these babies up and get knitting.

As there isn’t really a lot of any one colour I have no real clue what any of these will become, although some interested parties have been seeing cooing over their favourite colour combinations, so it’s safe to say these might become something for those boys of mine.

Having just the smallest of wanderings into the land of colour, I think I will play about some more to see what’s what before committing a large amount of roving to any one thing. But these are fun lessons, and ones which I am in no hurry to finish.

7 thoughts on “An Experiment in Colour

  1. Ok 🙂
    I never cared for yarn being itchy or not, but since I got married my husband insists into deviding yarns into those that itch, and those that are itch free.
    I should adapt to that if I want to make him things and expect him to wear them 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

