Links

DSC_0096

No apology for these links this time. Although they do follow somewhat in their banality akin to the other links I’ve posted thus far.

:: This map of Britain found here concentrates on the British territories and kingdoms that were established during the fourth and fifth centuries, as the Saxons and Angles began their settlement of the east coast.

:: Another map showing the Anglo-Saxon royalty, ancient kingdoms and timeline.

:: Bored yet? Yeah well, too bada genetic map of Britain“The similarity between southwest Wales and northern England is explicable. The northern English region was associated with the Brythonic Celtic kingdom of Rheged, and later the southern portion of historical Strathclyde. These were the cousins of the Welsh, not Gaels like the Scots, but Britons. This is evident in the name Cumbria, it has the same root as Cymry, the ethnonym of the Welsh for themselves.”

:: Rheged? Why yes indeed – with language and cultural links to Old Welsh, both being derivative of the Insular Celt language Brittonic, with some arguing that Cumbric and Old Welsh hardly merit distinction. In fact, the legacy Yr Hen Ogledd remains strong in Wales, and several important Welsh dynasties trace their lineage from Gwyr y Gogledd, the Men of the North. “A number of important early Welsh texts were attributed to the Men of the North, such as Taliesin, Aneirin, Myrddin Wyllt, and the Cynfeirdd poets. Heroes of the north such as Urien Rheged, Owain mab Urien, and Coel Hen and his descendants feature in Welsh poetry and the Welsh Triads.

:: Language nerdery continues with this site – lord knows how I found it, Sources for the study of Scandinavian influence on Old and Middle English. And this book, The Welsh Language: A History by Janet Davies. This searchable online book, A Dictionary of the Welsh Language, Explained in English Volume 2 By William Owen Pughe. And whilst we’re on Pughe, as it were, this searchable online book is also worth a read, The Cambrian Register 1796 – A Sketch of the History of the Britons. I know. I know. I’m sorry. I’ll stop now.

:: Talking of stumbling onto links, this link concerned me hugely. Investigation Finds Signs of Secret Phone Surveillance Across London – Signs of IMSI catchers — also known as stingrays or cell-site simulators — were found at several locations in the British capital, including UK parliament, a peaceful anti-austerity protest, and the Ecuadorian embassy. It’s safe to say that privacy is dead, and that unless you are a committed technocrat devoted to the business of surveillance, the chances of you knowing the how and the why of snooping is virtually next to non-existent. Suffice to say that the military-industrial complex probably know more about you than you do. Be warned.

:: And if you’ve never read this site then I highly recommend The Intercept. News you won’t find in mainstream media with quite unflinching analysis.

And, finally….

:: Peppermint Mocha Truffles – ermergherd! These are amazing – AMAZING – “…easy to make, vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free, and take only a few minutes to prepare.” Truffles, people. TRUFFLES. Just… TRUFFLES.

And you’ve fallen asleep I see.

My work here is done.

10 thoughts on “Links

  1. You gave me a good smile this morning. All your very interesting links (yes, you need to be a librarian for sure) and some scary ones. And then the truffles!! I so had to laugh. Why aren’t you my neighbor? Might be because you are in the UK and I am in the US. You would be so much fun to know on a daily basis. Enjoy your day. Well, you day is half over and I am just coming up on 8am. So have a good day and evening.

    Like

  2. Yes, as in a dignified/respected woman. I came to it via Idunn(a) and the thought of her lovely garden in Norse mythology as inspiration (as I’m planning to plant fruit trees and have been researching apple varieties, as well as considering which other fruits to include – I’d been working my way through various fertility-based deities throughout various mythologies, but Idunn seemed a good fit, bearing in mind she’s northern European, although I did have a foray into Celtic mythology too).

    Anyway, I came across the connection between her and the idisi and from there the word “ides” as opposed to the word “wif” for a woman (and had all sorts of lovely little side tangents reading other bits and pieces). I found this site: https://ashleyjoy.wordpress.com an interesting read (amongst others).

    In what seems like a whole other life, I originally planned to study some sort of history (with an interest in mythology and folktales – I hadn’t settled on an exact route) at uni and was studying Ancient History, Philosophy and French at A Level (plus a Latin GCSE and was also considering Ancient Greek – as a side course was offered at the sixth form I attended – unfortunately I’d missed the opportunity to study Latin at school as I joined it late on). But then things went a bit pear-shaped and then I was expecting my eldest son and, well, I never did complete any A Levels (or indeed any degree). I retained my interest in history and mythology (and folktales) – but there are so many demands upon my time these days. Every-so-often it’s so enjoyable to go down some rabbit hole or other following a thread and I really enjoy the connections between peoples and the stories they tell.

    Like

Leave a Reply

