Changes

DSC_0073

DSC_0074

DSC_0101
Sometimes, you can get so used to something you can no longer see it; you can no longer see its limitations nor its potential.

Sometimes, to get over that hump a new perspective is needed. Or indeed, a kick up the bum.

DSC_0100

DSC_0079

DSC_0097

This space of ours had been languishing for a long, long while. I don’t know why, really, but no matter what I did the space never seemed to work. The room is too hot in summer and too cold in winter and organisation wasn’t really on top form.

Then a few weeks ago my husband and I had a discussion *ahem* about the state of the place and why were we keeping a whole lot of furniture we were not using when it meant a waste of space, a cluttered home and a whole lot of death-trap, toe-stubbers all over the place. I may have helpfully *ahem* decided to throw the table manually out the back door (where it didn’t fit), and in a fit of pique, plonked the table down beside the chalkboard only to find that the new place was perfect.
DSC_0098

DSC_0096
Suddenly we were using this space again, and so inspired to make a fresh start, fueled by the fact that the mini-man no longer needed a whole lot of the pre-school things that had been kept out and used with him, the whole house got a well-deserved decluttering spring-like clean.

It meant letting go. Letting go of some things I had been holding onto, some ideas I was trying to keep afloat. It meant letting go of memory keep-sakes and furniture. It meant stripping back what was so I could see what will be. And it felt liberating; I had been holding onto things quite unaware that in fact it was they that were holding onto me. Letting go meant growing, and the change was good.

DSC_0091

DSC_0090

DSC_0088

DSC_0089

DSC_0087

DSC_0084

DSC_0082

DSC_0102
Inspired greatly by Mariah Bruehl over on Playful Learning, and Meg over Sew Liberated I finally saw a new vision of how I wanted the room to look and work for us. And with a trip to the thrift store (naturally) for some new work surfaces and eBay for some storage solutions I set to work armed with binliners and boxes to remove things no longer working and replacing with areas that insha’allah will.

We will see where this takes us, but I hope whenever change is necessary I will have the wisdom and good grace to see it coming and to act accordingly.

5 thoughts on “Changes

  1. I love it Debbie! 🙂 Your spaces look fantastic!We are moving (if our house sells!) and I am so looking forward to creating new spaces in our new home. We’ll be downsizing a lot and I am very up for the challenge! 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

