Something Warm

DSC_0014

I started knitting this cardigan for the midget on Friday. It’s the Scrap Cardigan {details to follow on Ravelry}. By Monday evening I was weaving the ends in. It’s a ridiculously easy knit.

DSC_0007

However, it became apparent that I didn’t have enough green yarn to finish the job (why this hadn’t occured to me *before* I started knitting I have no idea) and I had to invent, and then implement, Plan B.

Plan B, as it turned out, was having different coloured sleeves and rib, and really only this creamy white would do.

DSC_0002

DSC_0008

The buttons were also in the stash, who knew, and I surprised myself by finding ten identical matching buttons, because honestly? I didn’t know I had *any* that matched, and was fully prepared to have this cardigan ruined by a hobo ecclectic button detail.

DSC_0022

But imagine my smugness when the yarn debacle and button fiasco was resolved and what I ended up with was a cardigan that looked better than I thought it would (much better than Plan A version).

A smugness which was quickly quashed when my mini-man tried it on, and showed me he is bigger than I imagined him to be. Ever so slightly….

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

Maybe I should have knit a guage? Or bought more yarn? Or been prepared entirely before the knit began?

Oh *sure* if I hadn’t wanted to *boring* about it. But miss all the fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants type craft I live on?! No way.

And it still does fit… and I’m sure he’ll wear it out before I have a chance to hand it down. At least he has some Mama-made warmth for these last few weeks of winter…

*** *** ***
12 thoughts on “Something Warm

  1. It looks great. Love the green & white combo. I’ve just started a little cardi for my little one in bright red with glitter (I like strong colours) and I hope it will turn out as nicely as yours – although I’m sure it’s gonna take me much longer than 5 days to knit it!!

    Like

  2. You know, as soon as I wrote that I knew it was a girl… silly me. Glad she likes it so much. Last time I asked the boys to pick out yarn one picked flurescent orange and one picked day-glo green. I vetoed them both for obvious reasons.

    Like

  3. How nice! I wish I were a neighbour down the street so you could hand it down to me 🙂 but I’m quite some miles away :(I’ve been meaning to tell you that I started knitting after all; so far, I made a hat for my oldest munchkin. It took me a week! I’m planning making another one for one of my girls and see if I can move on to something else. I would post some pics of my hat on my blog when I get a chance. Take a look, after all, I started knitting inspired by you, mashallah.

    Like

  4. *Blushes* oh wow, that is SO great! there is nothing like making your family warm with handmade things is there? Keep at it one stitch at a time and ANYTHING can be knit!! Going to check out your hats….

    Like

  5. Thankyou Kata! I was trying to think of the name of this colour green and you’ve nailed it – spring green. But the midget says he wants red next time …. no pleasing some folks…

    Like

Leave a Reply

