What it’s all about

It was her fault again. When I saw it I thought “Oh my. Lucky little Lady A for getting one of those”.

But it wouldn’t go away. It sat in my subconscious all this time gnawing away like a dog on a bone: “make one. make two. make it. make it. make it.” I would wake up and think about it. I would consider the pros and cons of making one, until I saw my son shivering coming down the stairs one morning. Then I knew *narrows eyes* I had to do it.

The crafting mojo had me in its grip. I was powerless to resist.

That very day I went to market to find the material and trimmings; there were only two requirements – it had to be cheap and non-pink. The bonus is I found lovely, medium weight, WARM material in my son’s favourite colour. Orange. Not too sure about the puke shade orange of this. But orange none-the-less.

The ‘trimmings and buttons’ lady’s stall was shut, so I created carnage in my stash finding ric rac (not too girly), some vintage woven ribbon and two sets of vintage buttons. The blue ones I have vague memories of being off something I remember in the family when I was about four, perhaps another robe – pure nylon and so flammable I must remember to keep it out of direct sunlight, THAT’S how old they are… lush…

So using Simplicity 5103 I set about making the dressing gowns/robes.

I totally killed the collar. Twice. Which confuses me. I have made the same collar countless times. But this time? Like a chimpanzee with an origami kit – not a clue. But shaped into something get-away-able … ish.

As I ripped the seams out my two year old siddled up to me and sat down looking at me full in the face like I was stupid, like only a two year old can, and asked, “Jim Jams, Mama?”. I said “yes, kinda”. He asked again, “Jim Jams, Mama??”. “Yes. Jim Jams”. Very satisfied he asked, “*MY* Jim Jams, Mama??” and I think at this point I might have even scooped him up and bit him and kissed him all over. His fault. Too cute masha’allah.

A little later I tried the gown on him and he ran to the door shouting, “DADA – LOOK!” and when his Dad praised him, he patted himself on the chest, raised an inch in height and walked off proudly. My heart melted and I realised: THIS is why I make stuff. You just don’t get that heart melt with shop-bought stuff. My son’s pride and happiness was a real winner.

So.

As imperfect as they are; as lurid are they seem, this is what it’s all about: making your child walk an inch higher, your child *crying* and throwing a tantrum when asked to take it off, your child being wrapped in warmth that you have made, your child making your heart melt. That’s why I do it. That’s why I make puke coloured, mangled gowns.

Masha’allah. *Sigh*

10 thoughts on “What it’s all about

  1. masha’Allah, they match the sunrise in colour and joy to your children .)

    *how* do you keep patience to sew on all those trimmings is what I want to know !?!?!

    Like

  2. that is the best feeling! i made a pair of train pajama bottoms and my son wants to wear them every day out and to bed too lol. I have to hide them from him and although it drives me crazy to negotiate every day on how not to wear them i love it too. Kids are so appreciative and seem to gravitate to the homemade. It must be the love sewn in the seams that draws them.

    Like

  3. Actually Shukr its the trimmings I like doing the best! πŸ˜€

    Yeah they are appreciative. Maybe they are just really easy to please? Good feelings all round πŸ˜€ masha’allah

    Like

  4. Never mind my nephew, ‘OOK AT ‘IS IKKUL FINGER POINTING AT THE BLUE BUTTON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    *gasp* *wheeze* nother…baby….quick!

    WHAT a pair of sweeties πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Very good work, I cannot see any mangled bits. Yummy xxxx

    Like

  5. Those look really comfy! I am amazed at your speed Mashallah. Something like this would probably take me months XD Btw did you make those curtains? I like those too.

    Like

  6. Masha’allah. Once I am locked into something I can’t rest til its done. Cut the pieces one evening and finished the gowns the next day. But Simplicity stuff is so, er, simple…

    Curtains, yes! πŸ˜† It’s just one curtain which covers a draughty door jzk! πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

